Announcement Detail

Changes Coming for the Nurse Licensure Compact

Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNCL)

As of January 19, 2018, the 21 states in the original Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) that enacted the new Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) will cease to be members of the original NLC.

This means that beginning January 19, 2018, a nurse with a license from Wisconsin, Colorado, New Mexico, and Rhode Island will hold a multistate license valid in only those four states rather than the original 25 states. These nurses will need to obtain additional licensure in order to practice in any of the new eNLC states. Conversely, it also means that nurses in the new eNLC states will no longer have the authority to practice in those states and will need to obtain a single-state license in order to continue practicing in those states after January 19, 2018