Recognizing excellence in the profession of Camp Nursing, ACN has four award opportunities:

Jeanne Otto Award

In 1993, the Association of Camp Nurses announced the Jeanne Otto Award.  

The Award, created in honor of ACN’s founder, was established as a way to formally recognize a camp nurse for outstanding professional contribution to the practice of camp nursing. It is meant to recognize only exceptional effort; consequently, the Award is not, necessarily, given each year. Any ACN member may nominate another member for the Jeanne Otto Award. 

The individual nominating submits a letter to the Board for consideration.  The letter should highlight the outstanding contributions to camp nursing and provide examples of meritorious accomplishments in the field.  The Board decides if the nominee merits the Award. If so, the recipient is informed and the award is conferred at the Association’s next National Symposium.

Please submit nomination letters to by December 1 of each year.  


  • 1993: Jeanne Otto, RN, MS
  • 1997: Dr. Kris Lishner, RN
  • 1999: Linda Ebner Erceg, RN, MS
  • 2004: Myra Pravda, RN, MS
  • 2009: Susan S. Baird, RN, MPH, MA
  • 2013: Doris Nerderman, RN, BSN
  • 2018:  Mary Marugg, RN

A hallmark of a profession is that it recognizes excellence among its practitioners.

Toward that end, ACN's Board approved creation of the Camp Nurse of the Year Award. This award is designed to recognize an ACN member (nurse) who, by virtue of being a camp nurse at his/her camp, made a significant difference to that camp's health/wellness profile. While the Association's Jeanne Otto Award recognizes contribution to the profession of camp nursing, the Camp Nurse of the Year Award recognizes a camp nurse's significant contribution to the health status of his/her own camp and the people there.

Award Information and Application


CompassPoint Writing Award

In honor of our previous editor, the Susan Baird CompassPoint (CP) Writing Award is given away each year to an individual who has demonstrated excellence in writing and publication about camp health.  The award winner is selected by the editorial board using the criteria of content, creativity, writing style, and application to camp health services.

Potential award winners do not have to be ACN members but will have published in CP within the last year.  The award is given at the National ACN Symposium to celebrate the accomplishments of a dedicated individual.

CompassPoint Writing Award Recipients

(The year listed is the year the award was given. The article appeared in CompassPoint the previous year)

2016: Ashley Marass, DNP, CPNP

2017: Linda Ebner Erceg, RN, MS, PHN

2018: Dr. Vicki Moran and Dr. Abby Hollander

Research Award

Each year the Association of Camp Nursing (ACN) seeks to acknowledge the newest research efforts in camp health. The research committee requests nominations and selects an Research Award winner to highlight the exemplary work performed by individuals or groups. Please see the attached information to learn more about nominations for the award and the process for submission.

Camp Health Research Award Description PDF

Camp Health Research Award Nomination Form PDF




Job Postings